Puppy Chow 2.0!

Hey everyone! Today is Monday…. No. Thanks. The wind chill today was -22. Long story short I didn’t go to school. Even though schools were still opened. These people are insane.

Anyway, because I didn’t go, I had a some extra time. And I did something dangerous. I came up with something I like to call puppy chow 2.0. In my family we always called it monkey munch for whatever reason, but it’s more popularly known as puppy chow so that’s what I’ll call it here. This is my first recipe on my blog, how exciting! I know my blog won’t be known for food, but that doesn’t mean I won’t share my favorite recipes, or my random creations once in  a while.

On to the recipe! This lovely creation in my opinion is WAY better than original puppy chow, hence why I named it puppy chow 2.0. So here’s the recipe:

¾ cup of a more plain type cereal (I used Corn Chex today, but sometimes I make this with things like frosted flakes, and I’ve even seen it done with peanut butter cereal, it all depends on preference and what you have in your house!)

⅓  bag of milk chocolate chips (Roughly that is, in this recipe, exact measures aren’t required! 😉 I still advise trying your best to stick to the recipe)

1 spoonful of Nutella

1 spoonful of peanut butter (or more if you’re crazy about peanut butter)

¼ cup of mini marshmallows

And some powdered sugar if you want to coat the puppy chow in it like you would normally.

Here’s how I did it.

I start by dumping all of the chocolate chips in a bowl, and microwaving them. I do this in 25-30 second intervals, stirring in between each time. (My chocolate chips were frozen, so it took a little more time than it would traditionally, I had to do about 90 seconds altogether.) You have to be very careful not to overcook your chocolate chips, something I learned from watching my mother… And even if you’re convinced they need another 30 seconds after doing it two or three times, don’t do it right away. Remember that there’s usually enough heat that they will keep melting after you take them out of the microwave so make sure to stir them a lot and you can avoid potentially overcooking your chocolate chips! 😀

Next, once your chocolate chips are nice and smoothly melted, grab your average teaspoon out of the drawer and dive into that jar of nutella! Just make sure it makes it into the bowl, and not your mouth…. Well. Maybe some in your mouth. Then, wipe off the spoon (if you are picky about it and don’t want Nutella in your peanut butter jar) and get a nice big spoon of peanut butter, and add that to the bowl too. However, you can add more if you’re simply in love with peanut butter. (I do like peanut butter, but I find it can be overwhelming and takes over the flavor in a dessert too much sometimes, and I found that one spoon for me is just enough.) Stir those into the chocolate quickly so your chocolate doesn’t harden, and make sure it’s smooth and well combined.

Now it gets tricky! Marshmallows are a difficult food to work with sometimes. What I did was add about half the marshmallows and mix them in, and put the bowl in the microwave, for exactly 11 seconds. I don’t know why, but I discovered this seems to be the magic number for marshmallows in my microwave. Your’s could be different though, so do as works best for you. As soon as I took the bowl out, I gently mixed them in, enough to make the texture go from smooth and creamy, to a little bit stickier and thick, and it’s easy to see when they’re mixed in perfectly.

You’re getting close to the end! Soon all of this will be in your mouth! Next add the cereal. Mix it in until you’ve found it’s coated enough for your liking. Now grab the rest of those marshmallows, and dump them in the bowl and mix them in. I found that I wanted them a little more mixed in than they will be at a normal state, so back in the microwave that bowl went. 8 seconds was perfect for me, but again, it may and most likely will vary. Here’s the last step. Powdered sugar. Grab some and put in as much as you like and mix it in. Then you’re done!

This is what it should look like when you're done (if you didn't use a ton of powdered sugar that is.) Ah! Heaven!

This is what it should look like when you’re done (if you didn’t use a ton of powdered sugar that is.) Ah! Heaven!

Now you have created the most dangerous food you can imagine. This my friends is solid gold. I made this for myself and ate it all. Then again, if you’re somehow self-controlled enough, this could make a snack for a couple days, or you could share it with your family. (Which personally I don’t know who would want to do that, but hey. You do you.) Also, you could double, triple, or quadruple this if you need to. Things like this are very flexible. Let me know if you come up with puppy chow 3.0, or simply find a small way to spice 2.0 up.

And I am very sorry for the lack of pictures, I actually only thought about making a post for this after the fact of making it! But I did my best to get you a few 🙂

Hope you enjoy eating this, and licking the bowl. And spoon. And spatula. And your fingers.

-Ten

P.S. I’m sorry the featured image to this post is blurry… I don’t understand why since it looks fine for me everywhere else! So here it is without the blurriness.

Leave a Reply

